Skip to content

Meet the Staff

General Education Leadership

Justin Hicks

Associate Dean, General Education

Interim Chair, General Education Executive Committee 

Associate Teaching Professor, Economics      


Jeannie Lee

Program Coordinator, General Education


General Education Membership 

General Education (GE) falls under the jurisdiction of College One; all Senate faculty are members of College One and share responsibility for General Education. The Vice-Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education (VPDUE) is the Dean of College One.

The Program Faculty Chair administers the program with the support of the Executive Committee. Unless otherwise stipulated herein, member roles are defined in the Academic Senate’s Guides to Membership and Executive Session.

Members of the Executive Committee include:

  • The Faculty Chair of the Program (ex-officio, voting member)
  • Two Senate faculty representatives from each of the schools of Engineering; Natural Sciences; and Social Sciences, Humanities & Arts (voting members)
  • Two at-large Non-Senate faculty members from different Schools (voting members)
  • The Director of the Merritt Writing Program (ex-officio, non-voting member)
  • The Coordinator of the General Education Program (ex-officio, non-voting member)
  • A representative from Student Affairs (non-voting member)
  • An undergraduate student (non-voting member)

2023 - 2024 Membership

Name Department Representation
Justin Hicks Economics and Business Managmet Interim Chair, Associate Dean of General Education
Alejandro Gutierrez Mechanical Engineering Assistant Teaching Professor for the School of Engineering
Brian O’Bruba Division of Student Affairs Executive Director for Office of Leadership, Service and Career
Heather Devrick Global Arts, Media and Writing 
Continuing Lecturer, Merritt Writing Program
Lora Burnett School of Social Sciences, Humantities, and Art Interim Director, Merritt Writing Program
Ryan Baxter Chemistry & Biochemistry Associate Professor for the School of Natural Sciences
Sachin Goyal Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor for the School of Engineering
Jeannie Lee Division of Undergraduate Education General Education Program Administrative Assistant
Alex Luu Student Representative ASUCM, Court Associate Justice