Skip to content Skip to navigation
A Common Experience for All Undergraduates

General Education Executive Committee

General Education (GE) falls under the jurisdiction of College One; all Senate faculty are members of College One and share responsibility for General Education. The Vice-Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education (VPDUE) is the Dean of College One.

The Program Faculty Chair administers the program with the support of the Executive Committee. Unless otherwise stipulated herein, member roles are defined in the Academic Senate’s Guides to Membership and Executive Session.


a. Members of the Executive Committee include:

• The Faculty Chair of the Program (ex-officio, voting member)

• Two Senate faculty representatives from each of the schools of Engineering;

Natural Sciences; and Social Sciences, Humanities & Arts (voting members)

• Two at-large Non-Senate faculty members from different Schools (voting


• The Director of the Merritt Writing Program (ex-officio, non-voting member)

• The Coordinator of the General Education Program (ex-officio, non-voting


• A representative from Student Affairs (non-voting member)

• An undergraduate student (non-voting member)


2022 - 2023 Membership

Name Department Representation
Brian Utter Physics Chair, Associate Dean of General Education
Alejandro Gutierrez Mechanical Engineering Assistant Teaching Professor for the School of Engineering
Brian O’Bruba Division of Student Affairs Executive Director for Office of Leadership, Service and Career
Derek Sollberger Applied Mathematics Lecturer for Applied Mathematics
Estee Beck School of Social Sciences, Humantities, and Art Director, Merritt Writing Program
Holley Moyes Anthropology Professor for the School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts
Michelle Toconis Merritt Writing Program, Global Arts, Media and Writing Studies Lecturer for the Merritt Writing Program
Nigel Hatton Literatures, Languages & Cultures Associate Professor for the School of Social Sciences, Humanities, and Arts
Ryan Baxter Chemistry & Biochemistry Associate Professor for the School of Natural Sciences
Sachin Goyal Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor for the School of Engineering
Jeannie Lee Division of Undergraduate Education General Education Program Administrative Assistant